The Pharmacist s WifeThe Pharmacist s Wife



Vanessa Tait. Loop. | |H|| | LEEIRE. so DEADIY ALCHEM E|| || #|| PHARMACISTS
- o --- - - With shades of o Waters. independence and vengeao o THE
PHARMACIST'S WIFE Vanessa Tait grew up in Gloucestershire. She. Front
Cover.

Author: Vanessa Tait

Publisher: Atlantic Books

ISBN: 9781786492722

Category:

Page: 400

View: 400

A dark and thrilling tale of Victorian addiction, vengeance and self-discovery, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. Love. Desire. Vengeance. A deadly alchemy. When Rebecca Palmer's new husband opens a pharmacy in Victorian Edinburgh, she expects to live the life of a well-heeled gentlewoman. But her ideal turns to ashes when she discovers her husband is not what he seems. As Rebecca struggles to maintain her dignity in the face of his infidelity and strange sexual desires, Alexander tries to pacify her so-called hysteria with a magical new chemical creation. A wonder-drug he calls heroin. Rebecca's journey into addiction takes her further into her past, and her first, lost love, while Alexander looks on, curiously observing his wife's descent. Meanwhile, Alexander's desire to profit from his invention leads him down a dangerous path that blurs science, passion, and death. He soon discovers that even the most promising experiments can have unforeseen and deadly consequences... Reminiscent of the works of Sarah Waters, this is a brilliantly observed piece of Victoriana which deals with the disempowerment of women, addiction, desire, sexual obsession and vengeance.

From the Farm to the Pharmacist and BeyondFrom the Farm to the Pharmacist and Beyond



About this time, Edna Lane, wife of pharmacist Joe Lane, asked my wife to join
the Pharmacists Auxiliary with the first meeting at the Richer's home on East
Genesee Street. At this meeting one of the attendees rose up in righteous
indignation ...

Author: Bill Haithco

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595438655

Category:

Page: 124

View: 528

Bill Haithco was born in Saginaw, Michigan, in 1923. Being an African-American raised in a Dutch-German neighborhood provided Bill with many valuable lessons about multicultural diversity. These lessons helped to shape the person, personal goals, and achievements which are highlighted in this autobiography. This book chronicles the life of an African American whose life adventures began prior to enactment of the Civil Rights Act of 1965. Friendships, family ties, and professional challenges are described in this book. The ultimate achievements, per Bill Haithco, were establishment of the Saginaw County Parks and Recreation Commission and dedication of The William H. Haithco Recreation Center.

EbonyEbony



The spouse of the pastor, in fact, maybe male and have his own job, outside his
wife's church. New millennium preachers' spouses are judges, book authors,
dentists, lawyers, medical doctors, pharmacists, administrators and preachers.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 160

View: 736

EBONY is the flagship magazine of Johnson Publishing. Founded in 1945 by John H. Johnson, it still maintains the highest global circulation of any African American-focused magazine.

EndgameEndgame



I spoke to every woman I managed to catch, telling them that I was a twenty-eight-
year-old engineer—they liked ... Whenever I went to the pharmacy he was there
writing away on his computer, and his wife was always there beside him knitting.

Author: Ahmet Altan

Publisher: Europa Editions

ISBN: 9781609453787

Category:

Page: 320

View: 326

An unnamed author is consumed by a small-town conspiracy in this existential noir by the award-winning Turkish author of Like a Sword Wound. Named one of Washington Post’s 50 Notable Books of 2017 In Endgame, award-winning author and Turkish political dissident Ahmet Altan has crafted an enigmatic literary noir exploring the ways corruption has overtaken contemporary Turkish life. With a dreamlike logic reminiscent of Paul Auster and Graham Greene, it tells the story of an unnamed man who arrives in a small town only to find himself involved in a mystery with existential implications (The Washington Post). The protagonist, a womanizing writer who lived his entire life in the city, retires to a sunbaked Turkish village to enjoy the quiet. Instead, he encounters a world of suspicion, paranoia, and violence. The town’s mayor is both his only ally and his greatest nemesis; his lover shares an ambiguous past with the mayor; the locals seem hell-bent on turning him into a murderer; and, he is initiated into the town’s biggest secret only to discover this knowledge will become a weapon used against him. All the while, Altan’s appealingly untrustworthy narrator transports the reader into a world of lust, ambition, small-town politics, and death. “Endgame is a mystery adventure of such intimately written humanity that it transcends genre, time, and place. If Steinbeck had written The Godfather it might have read like this.” —DBC Pierre, Man Booker Prize–winning author of Vernon God Little

Western DruggistWestern Druggist



Pharmacist Hugo W . C . Martin finds a great increase of the opium habit in the
vicinity of his State street store , which is located in close proximity to the demi -
monde district . - A local physician was treating a woman for dysentery , who died
 ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015069700493

Category:

Page:

View: 163

Druggists CircularDruggists Circular



He is survived by his wife , one son , Harry Adams , of Rochester , and a sister ,
Miss Nellie Adams , of East Bloomfield . Druģgist ” were ... Mrs. Graver was the
first woman to be made a member of a board of pharmacy . This was when she
was ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015086594671

Category:

Page:

View: 963

In Health and in SicknessIn Health and in Sickness



Pharmacy, Pharmacists, and the Pharmaceutical Industry in Late Imperial, Early
Soviet Russia Mary Elizabeth Schaeffer, ... In the story , the aptekarsha , unhappy
wife of a Provizor , or fully qualified pharmacist , in a small provincial town , is ...

Author: Mary Elizabeth Schaeffer

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015035752719

Category:

Page: 703

View: 577

A history of (civilian) Russian pharmacy and the pharmaceutical industry whic were a microcosm of Russian polity and economy before, during, and after th Russian revolutions of 1917. To illustrate both the continuities and the differences between late imperial and early Soviet Russia, the first 11

The Stirring RodThe Stirring Rod



A man several States as a competent pharmacist and then with a poor
personality may have a wife with a most offers his services to his country in that
capacity he wonderful personality that will just supply that which awakens to find
that his ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89008622557

Category:

Page:

View: 625

Pacific Drug ReviewPacific Drug Review



The Pharmacy Department " got into the act " in 1948 when cosmetics for the first
Summer Festival got lost on its way to ... Ensign Drug Co. , which closed recently ,
and Mrs. Homer is the pharmacist wife of Fred Homer of Driver Drug Store of ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:101336120

Category:

Page:

View: 497

Chemist and DruggistChemist and Druggist



The Newsweekly for Pharmacy. Proprietary ... A whist drive was also arranged,
the prizes being distributed by Mrs. Godfrey (wife of the chairman). ... Mr. Harri
Heap, the city analyst, said that he examined certain organs of the dead woman.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015073182811

Category:

Page:

View: 787