The Cornish Coast MurderThe Cornish Coast Murder



The Reverend Dodd, vicar of the quiet Cornish village of Boscawen, spends his evenings reading detective stories by the fireside - but the peace is shattered one stormy night when Julius Tregarthan, a secretive and ill-tempered magistrate, ...

Author: John Bude

Publisher: British Library Board

ISBN: 0712357157

Category:

Page: 288

View: 653

The Reverend Dodd, vicar of the quiet Cornish village of Boscawen, spends his evenings reading detective stories by the fireside - but the peace is shattered one stormy night when Julius Tregarthan, a secretive and ill-tempered magistrate, is found with a bullet through his head!

The Cornish Coast MurderThe Cornish Coast Murder



" So thinks the Reverend Dodd-vicar of the quiet Cornish village of Boscawen and a reader of detective novels-when an actual mystery unexpectedly lands on his doorstep in The Cornish Coast Murder.

Author: Ernest Elmore,

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 1983836575

Category:

Page: 326

View: 517

Never, even in his most optimistic moments, had he visualised a scene of this nature-himself in one arm-chair, a police officer in another, and between them . . . a mystery." So thinks the Reverend Dodd-vicar of the quiet Cornish village of Boscawen and a reader of detective novels-when an actual mystery unexpectedly lands on his doorstep in The Cornish Coast Murder. Julius Tregarthan, a secretive and ill-tempered magistrate, is found at his house in Boscawen, shot through the head-and the local police investigator is baffled by the complete absence of clues. Fortunately for the inspector, the Reverend Dodd is at hand, ready to put his lifetime of vicarious detecting experience to the test.

Death on the RivieraDeath on the Riviera



This is the first edition to have been published in more than sixty years and follows the rediscovery of Bude's long-neglected detective writing by the British Library.

Author: John Bude

Publisher:

ISBN: 1464205698

Category:

Page: 250

View: 357

When a counterfeit currency racket comes to light on the French Riviera, Detective Inspector Meredith is sent speeding southwards - out of the London murk to the warmth and glitter of the Mediterranean. Along with Inspector Blampignon - an amiable policeman from Nice - Meredith must trace the whereabouts of Chalky Cobbett, crook and forger.Soon their interest centres on the Villa Paloma, the residence of Nesta Hedderwick, an eccentric Englishwoman, and her bohemian house guests - among them her niece, an artist, and a playboy. Before long, it becomes evident that more than one of the occupants of the Villa Paloma has something to hide, and the stage is set for murder.This classic crime novel from 1952 evokes all the sunlit glamour of life on the Riviera, and combines deft plotting with a dash of humour. This is the first edition to have been published in more than sixty years and follows the rediscovery of Bude's long-neglected detective writing by the British Library.

The Lake District Murder 16pt Large Print Edition The Lake District Murder 16pt Large Print Edition



Why was the dead man planning to flee the country? And how is this connected to the shady business dealings of the garage? This classic mystery novel is set amidst the stunning scenery of a small village in the Lake District.

Author: John Bude

Publisher:

ISBN: 0369325257

Category:

Page: 506

View: 238

Luke flung the light of his torch full onto the face of the immobile figure. Then he had the shock of his life. The man had no face! Where his face should have been was a sort of inhuman, uniform blank!' When a body is found at an isolated garage, Inspector Meredith is drawn into a complex investigation where every clue leads to another puzzle: ...

Murder Most CornishMurder Most Cornish



The most gripping cozy murder mystery of 2020, perfect for fans of J.R. Ellis and
Agatha Frost Kate Johnson ... nearly 3 a.m. Serena, who had divorced Ned
shortly before he came into possession of a very large property on the Cornish
coast.

Author: Kate Johnson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409198284

Category:

Page: 288

View: 806

'An excellent cosy mystery.' NetGalley Reviewer At Penkellis Hall, murder is just for entertainment... Kitty Cardew has been enjoying life in Port Trevan and her reoccurring role on a popular TV show, all is looking rosy, except for the very small issue of being broke. So when Kitty is asked to help out at a murder mystery weekend in a Gothic mansion on the coast, she jumps at the chance. Throwing her into the path of Ned Crowe, who might be good-looking, but definitely one of the most irritating men she's ever met! Just as the sparks start to fly, a body is discovered and this time the death is not part of the plan. Desperately in need of help to figure out which of their guests is the real killer, Kitty and Ned turn to Molly Higgins. She might be catering the weekend, but she is the only one who can help track down the murderer, before they strike again... The second book in the gripping new Molly Higgins Cozy Mystery series: Book 1 - Death Comes to Cornwall Book 2 - Murder Most Cornish Book 3 - Coming soon

Cornish Castle Mystery CollectionCornish Castle Mystery Collection



Now her childhood dream was finally coming true: summer along the Cornish
coast. Her heartbeat sped up, and she strained her eyes to catch that first alluring
glimpse of sparkling water. But there was nothing to be seen. Still the way in
which ...

Author: Vivian Conroy

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780008314439

Category:

Page: 900

View: 121

‘Is yet another fantastic tale.’ Karen Quick ‘Guinevere is a little like a modern day Miss Marple’ Adele B The perfect cosy crime bundle, featuring both Cornish Castle mysteries. Welcome to Cornisea island and the mysteries surrounding the Cornish Castle...

Death Comes to CornwallDeath Comes to Cornwall



Shortlisted for the Jackie Collins Romantic Thriller Award category of the Romantic Novel Awards 2021 The perfect holiday destination.

Author: Kate Johnson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409198277

Category:

Page: 288

View: 113

'Doc Martin meets Agatha Raisin in Death Comes to Cornwall' Bookish Jottings 'If you're a mystery lover then don't miss this one.' NetGalley reviewer The perfect holiday destination. The perfect place for murder... Molly Higgins never expected to be caught up in a murder investigation. All she'd hoped for this year was to work hard, save enough money to open her very own café on the Cornish coast and avoid her ex, Conor Blackstone, who has just arrived back in the village. But when she and Conor discover a body on the cliffside in Port Trevan they are thrown once more together. Molly is keen to leave the mystery to the police, but when she finds herself their top suspect, Molly has no choice but to catch the killer herself - before it is too late. Readers and reviewers on NetGalley love Death Comes to Cornwall 'Cosy crime with a hint of snark, reminded me a bit of M C Beaton' 'A deeee-lightful book' 'I really enjoyed this one. Atmospheric and exciting.'

Alice Leighton or the Murders at the Druid s StonesAlice Leighton or the Murders at the Druid s Stones



I had an agent at Rochefort for the sale of prizes , and whenever I captured a
French vessel , I sent Albini or Beltor to Flushing with it , where ship and cargo
were easily disposed of . I often felt tempted to land on the Cornish coast , and at
 ...

Author: Thomas Frost

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0017520334

Category:

Page:

View: 771

The Main ChanceThe Main Chance



Tweed has already met members of the two families, run by their forefathers for generations. Was Bella murdered by one of them - or is it the work of the vicious Calouste?

Author: Colin Forbes

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781847394897

Category:

Page: 304

View: 539

At the urgent plea of his old friend, Commander Buchanan of Scotland Yard, Tweed, once ace detective, now Deputy Chief SIS, visits Mrs Bella Main, formidable matriarch controlling the Main Chance, the most powerful private bank in Europe. Bella tells Tweed and Paula Grey, his assistant, that she has refused an enormous offer from Calouste Gubenkian, the most ruthless and villainous man in Europe. Within days of their visit Bella is murdered. Tweed and Paula return to investigate the atrocious act. The bank's HQ is based in a huge Elizabethan manor hidden in The Forest, a vast area in the deep south of England. Tweed has already met members of the two families, run by their forefathers for generations. Was Bella murdered by one of them - or is it the work of the vicious Calouste? The movement never stops, changing to Calouste's Chateau Les Rochers in the Belgian Ardennes. A ferocious battle takes place. Two more murders are committed at the manor. Tweed and Paula race to tiny Seacove on the rugged Cornish coast to prevent another murder. Finally, Tweed proves the Bank, founded in 1912, was based on a brutal crime all those years ago.

Careless in RedCareless in Red



“Exceptional. . . . Intelligent, surprising, sexy, funny, compassionate and wise.”—Washington Post From #1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth George, a stunning mystery featuring Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley that ...

Author: Elizabeth George

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780061792953

Category:

Page: 896

View: 390

He found the body on the forty-third day of his walk . . . Devastated by the senseless murder of his wife, Detective Superintendent Thomas Lynley retreated to Cornwall, where he has spent six solitary weeks hiking the bleak and rugged coastline. But no matter how far he walks, the painful memories do not diminish. Then, at the base of a cliff near a town better known for its surfing than its intrigue, Lynley discovers the body of a young man who has fallen to his death. First a witness, then a suspect when the hand of a killer is revealed, Lynley remains, above all, a policeman willing to aid the gruff head of an understaffed local constabulary in her investigation. But the secrets in this community run dark and deep—and Lynley must somehow find a way to let go of the past long enough to solve a most devious and dreadful crime.

The EconomistThe Economist



To those aching since Lord MountbatOf course it is possible that the AUEW
Monday's raids on the Cornish coast ten's murder and the paratroopers ' maswill
not treat the constitutional reforms as were either pure Hollywood or pure sacre
for a ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCSD:31822026625061

Category:

Page:

View: 687