In Grand Purple Robes of MadnessIn Grand Purple Robes of Madness



Written as a prelude to suicide, the tortured Narrator tells us he is attempting to write the bleakest book ever written. Fans of Pessoa, Cioran, Nietzsche, and Bataille may find this work intriguing.

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781105235597

Category:

Page: 305

View: 195

A diary of a man descending into madness. Written as a prelude to suicide, the tortured Narrator tells us he is attempting to write the bleakest book ever written. Fans of Pessoa, Cioran, Nietzsche, and Bataille may find this work intriguing. Each entry serves as a meditation and a further descent. We are given the lyrical substitute for the narrator's anguish. Ego vanishes. Every mood is set down and recast in the molds of painful lyricism. A war of opposites is waged from within as if a dress rehearsal for "The magnum opus I'll never write..." We notice both affinity and disjunction; Poems are included seemingly for the sole purpose of thwarting the discipline of poetry. Everything is taken from a phenomenological attitude, as if it had been the Diary of Heidegger or Husserl. This book is the 3rd in the "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow

Slow ArrowSlow Arrow



Also features Essays on Nietzche, Cioran, and Plato. This book may be considered the finale to this author's "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781300780793

Category:

Page:

View: 647

A fragmented debris of surrealism and hysteria. Written in the form of an anonymous diary, the narrator demonstrates a progression from crippling anxiety toward Buddhist awakening. Text is unconventional, manic, chaotic, tortured and relentless. Fans of Henry Miller will perhaps see some similarities. The narrator's disgust for existence seems to stain every page. Themes of Nihilism, Psychopathy, and Heraclitus add to the overall mood of delirium. Also features Essays on Nietzche, Cioran, and Plato. This book may be considered the finale to this author's "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow

Spectres of ConfusionSpectres of Confusion



Page by page we unlock clues as to the origin of the book itself. It looks as if each person who passed this book along somehow became apart of it; as if the book were capable of trapping innocent souls between its pages!

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781300855699

Category:

Page:

View: 951

How many generations has this curse survived? Page by page we unlock clues as to the origin of the book itself. It looks as if each person who passed this book along somehow became apart of it; as if the book were capable of trapping innocent souls between its pages! Part horror fiction, part philosophy, the book uses a myriad of voices to illustrate its Nihilistic world view. Features essays on: Nietzsche, Descartes, Diogenes and Fernando Pessoa. (This book is the second installment of this author's "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness, 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow)

The Book of DisquietudeThe Book of Disquietude



... ours , to live off vestiges and the ill - defined , in grand purple robes of madness
and in counterfeit laces of dreamed majesties ... To be something , anything , that
doesn't feel the weight of the rain outside , nor the anguish of inner emptiness .

Author: Bernardo Soares

Publisher: Sheep Meadow Press

ISBN: UOM:39015047056653

Category:

Page: 323

View: 428

"There is a distinguished mind at work beneath the totally acceptable dullness of clerking. The mind is that of Pessoa. We must be given the chance to learn more about him."-Anthony Burgess, "Observer" Seated at his desk in the Lisbon's Rua dos Douradores, Bernardo Soares, an assistant book-keeper, writes his diary-a self-deprecating reflection on the sheer distance between the loftiness of his feelings and the humdrum reality of his everyday life. "This is a prize-winning translation of a classic of existential literature-a book acknowledged by the critics as "the most beautiful diary of the century." Fernando Pessoa grew up in Durban, South Africa, where his stepfather was Portuguese consul. He returned to Lisbon in 1905 and worked as a clerk until his death in 1935.

This delicious madnessThis delicious madness



retired to Mo seventy - seven Her grandTelevision an famous grand This picture
was hung in the Royal Academy and the ... G F Watts took forty sittings to show
her as the symbol of summer , all purple and gold ; Burne - Jones put her twice in
one ... Whistler , who painted her in a yellow robe , said of her , ' She is perfect .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B4930923

Category:

Page:

View: 724

Fox s Book of MartyrsFox s Book of Martyrs



... and partly from anguish and madness . gave the first onset , supported by a
divine asThis alarming advance towards the total surance ... to re slaughter , that
he threw away his purple robe , store to the Christians “ their former estates , to
escape in the habit of a slave . ... the Grand Secular mestics , to proceed farther to
the East , but Games , which of course should have been so stopped at
Cappadocia ...

Author: John Foxe

Publisher:

ISBN: MSU:31293000970248

Category:

Page: 761

View: 201

Frank Leslie s Sunday MagazineFrank Leslie s Sunday Magazine



Thy love each day its sin forgave , to madness , and awoke the worst passions of
her soul . ... His May all my life show forth Thy praise , purple robe is richly
embroidered with gold . ... The terraces of umphal course of this haughty , prince
and favorite as he a beautiful garden attached to a grand palace were exhal .
passes ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015068366593

Category:

Page:

View: 103

Includes music.

The History of the County and City of CorkThe History of the County and City of Cork



... face the animal, and to flaunt a scarlet robe or a pair of purple stockings
between his very eyes, was positive madness. ... the feet of the Grand Monarch of
France, who had watched the whole proceeding with the most sovereign
equanimity.

Author: Charles Bernard Gibson

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433061836866

Category:

Page:

View: 565

A Book of the Play Studies and Illustrations of Histrionic Story Life and CharacterA Book of the Play Studies and Illustrations of Histrionic Story Life and Character



Now , Mrs. Bellamy's grand dress of deep yellow satin , with a robe of rich purple
velvet , was found to have a most ... adopt Mrs. Bellamy's account of the
proceeding , Mrs. Woffington's rage was so kindled “ that it nearly bordered on
madness .

Author: Dutton Cook

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:30000099724993

Category:

Page: 391

View: 812

Sessional papers Inventory control record 1Sessional papers Inventory control record 1



... of Rachel 247 Hawksworto Classic Tales 1555 Hawthorne Grandfather's Chair
1554 Mosses from an Old Manse 1553 ... Fire 1587 Follow the Gleam 1585
Madness of David Baring 1588 Mistress Nancy Molesworth 1586 Purple Robe
1584 ...

Author: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:C3636754

Category:

Page:

View: 481

Parliamentary PapersParliamentary Papers



... of Rachel 247 Hawkswortb Classic Tales 1555 Hawthorne Grandfather's Chair
1554 Mosses from an Old Manse 1553 ... Fire 1587 Follow the Gleam 1585
Madness of David Baring 1588 Mistress Nancy Molesworth 1586 Purple Robe
1584 ...

Author: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105009897096

Category:

Page:

View: 967

Harper s WeeklyHarper s Weekly



Whiteblack , the Cardinal iu purple robes and scar every nationality to flock to
Madrid , instead ness , when nature has ... as against that of goad the bull to
madness ; and the excitement All trains arrive at and depart from Grand Sanitary
Supt .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000020243371

Category:

Page:

View: 154

Personal Memoirs of Charles the SecondPersonal Memoirs of Charles the Second



There can be no doubt that he had himself previously set in motion the machinery
to enable him to attain this grand object of his ambition , without ... Under these
circumstances , it would have been madness and folly for him to have persevered
, and he deemed it prudent to reject the crown with as good ... He wore robes of
purple lined with ermine ; holding the sceptre in his hand during his proclamation
 ...

Author: John William Clayton

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X004332936

Category:

Page:

View: 232

Personal memoirs of Charles the secondPersonal memoirs of Charles the second



There can be no doubt that he had himself previously set in motion the machinery
to enable him to attain this grand object of his ... Under these circumstances , it
would have been madness and folly for him to have persevered , and he deemed
it prudent to reject the ... He wore robes of purple lined with ermine ; holding the
sceptre in his hand during his proclamation as Lord Protector by the heralds .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: ONB:+Z227321802

Category:

Page: 440

View: 413

Gleason s Monthly CompanionGleason s Monthly Companion



... with foam , through deep defiles , which it seemed as if no sunbeam had ever
ligbted up , and TELL you it would be madness to go on ! ... It was just as the sun
went down in a mass of clouds , midnight when they reached the grand old road ,
which hung dense and dark ... A loose purple robe , and a scarlet mantle way .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:319510007340268

Category:

Page:

View: 699

All the Year Round0All the Year Round0



name : Mrs. Bellamy's grand dress of deep yellow I ' the upper wardrobe , next to
which , by chance , satin , with a robe of rich purple velvet , Skin - coats , these he
removed with greater fury , was found to have a most injurious effect And ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: BSB:BSB11320513

Category:

Page:

View: 961

Public OpinionPublic Opinion



And what madness it must be to walk around the edge of it , taking snapshots
with run in debt for superfluities ! ... One of the coronation robes of Henry III is
ordered Various Copics to be of the best purple samite , embroidered with " TO
EXCHANGE ... is the coronation , and preferred to the royal garments of young
grand duke of Saxe - Weimar , one of the richest royal purple the dress of a
common citizen .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105119139256

Category:

Page:

View: 406

The NationThe Nation



From his The introductory chapter has the rare merit dently rather bored by the
imaginative grand point of view Aristophanes was ... we judges in purple robes of
office , dignified by re first prize a score of times to that severe height find in Egypt
some hymns and religious ... no mob , nor an isolated censor , remote and
unepisodes are the mere midsummer madness of historical training and
imagination .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435053397642

Category:

Page:

View: 695