In Grand Purple Robes of MadnessIn Grand Purple Robes of Madness



Written as a prelude to suicide, the tortured Narrator tells us he is attempting to write the bleakest book ever written. Fans of Pessoa, Cioran, Nietzsche, and Bataille may find this work intriguing.

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781105235597

Category:

Page: 305

View: 607

A diary of a man descending into madness. Written as a prelude to suicide, the tortured Narrator tells us he is attempting to write the bleakest book ever written. Fans of Pessoa, Cioran, Nietzsche, and Bataille may find this work intriguing. Each entry serves as a meditation and a further descent. We are given the lyrical substitute for the narrator's anguish. Ego vanishes. Every mood is set down and recast in the molds of painful lyricism. A war of opposites is waged from within as if a dress rehearsal for "The magnum opus I'll never write..." We notice both affinity and disjunction; Poems are included seemingly for the sole purpose of thwarting the discipline of poetry. Everything is taken from a phenomenological attitude, as if it had been the Diary of Heidegger or Husserl. This book is the 3rd in the "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow

Spectres of ConfusionSpectres of Confusion



Other Books by this Author: ~Atheism is Winning! ~The 48 Laws of Power
Reversal ~In Grand Purple Robes of Madness ~Spectres of Confusion ~Slow
Arrow ~One Wick More ~“45” ~Cosmic Pessimism. Nihilism. Zen. (Compilation)
Part I ...

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781300855699

Category:

Page:

View: 316

How many generations has this curse survived? Page by page we unlock clues as to the origin of the book itself. It looks as if each person who passed this book along somehow became apart of it; as if the book were capable of trapping innocent souls between its pages! Part horror fiction, part philosophy, the book uses a myriad of voices to illustrate its Nihilistic world view. Features essays on: Nietzsche, Descartes, Diogenes and Fernando Pessoa. (This book is the second installment of this author's "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness, 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow)

Slow ArrowSlow Arrow



Other Books by this Author: ~Atheism is Winning! ~The 48 Laws of Power
Reversal ~In Grand Purple Robes of Madness ~Spectres of Confusion ~Slow
Arrow ~One Wick More ~“45” ~Cosmic Pessimism. Nihilism. Zen. (Compilation)
Part I ...

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781300780793

Category:

Page:

View: 625

A fragmented debris of surrealism and hysteria. Written in the form of an anonymous diary, the narrator demonstrates a progression from crippling anxiety toward Buddhist awakening. Text is unconventional, manic, chaotic, tortured and relentless. Fans of Henry Miller will perhaps see some similarities. The narrator's disgust for existence seems to stain every page. Themes of Nihilism, Psychopathy, and Heraclitus add to the overall mood of delirium. Also features Essays on Nietzche, Cioran, and Plato. This book may be considered the finale to this author's "Shadow Buddha Trilogy" which includes: 1)In Grand Purple Robes of Madness 2)Spectres of Confusion and 3)Slow Arrow

The Book of DisquietThe Book of Disquiet



... in grand purple robes of madness and in counterfeit laces of dreamed
majesties... To be something, anything, that doesn't feel the weight of the rain
outside, nor the anguish of inner emptiness... To wander without thought or soul –
sensation ...

Author: Fernando Pessoa

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780141914046

Category:

Page: 544

View: 756

With its astounding hardcover reviews Richard Zenith's new complete translation of THE BOOK OF DISQUIET has now taken on a similar iconic status to ULYSSES, THE TRIAL or IN SEARCH OF LOST TIME as one of the greatest but also strangest modernist texts. An assembly of sometimes linked fragments, it is a mesmerising, haunting 'novel' without parallel in any other culture.

The Book of DisquietudeThe Book of Disquietude



To shrug off all duties , even those not assigned to us , to repudiate all homes ,
even those that weren ' t ours , to live off vestiges and the ill - defined , in grand
purple robes of madness and in counterfeit laces of dreamed majesties . . . To be
 ...

Author: Bernardo Soares

Publisher: Sheep Meadow Press

ISBN: UOM:39015047056653

Category:

Page: 323

View: 290

"There is a distinguished mind at work beneath the totally acceptable dullness of clerking. The mind is that of Pessoa. We must be given the chance to learn more about him."-Anthony Burgess, "Observer" Seated at his desk in the Lisbon's Rua dos Douradores, Bernardo Soares, an assistant book-keeper, writes his diary-a self-deprecating reflection on the sheer distance between the loftiness of his feelings and the humdrum reality of his everyday life. "This is a prize-winning translation of a classic of existential literature-a book acknowledged by the critics as "the most beautiful diary of the century." Fernando Pessoa grew up in Durban, South Africa, where his stepfather was Portuguese consul. He returned to Lisbon in 1905 and worked as a clerk until his death in 1935.

New Catholic WorldNew Catholic World



It stands girdled with its forty and trodden their purple garments thousand acres of
forest , or gathering under foot , to choose the crown ... a united thorns and the
scant robe of povertysingle one , and presents perhaps a love driven to the
strange madness wider and more ... whose find inexhaustible food for meditation
snow - white brow the dark shadow of before the grand , irregular pile that sin has
never ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:$B623175

Category:

Page:

View: 201

Catholic WorldCatholic World



It stands girdled with its forty and trodden their purple garments thousand acres of
forest , or gathering under foot , to choose the crown ... a united thorns and the
scant robe of povertysingle one , and presents perhaps a love driven to the
strange madness wider and more ... whose find inexhaustible food for meditation
snow - white brow the dark shadow of before the grand , irregular pile that sin has
never ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105007350536

Category:

Page:

View: 417

This delicious madnessThis delicious madness



retired to Mo seventy - seven Her grandTelevision an famous grand This picture
was hung in the Royal Academy and the ... G F Watts took forty sittings to show
her as the symbol of summer , all purple and gold ; Burne - Jones put her twice in
one ... Whistler , who painted her in a yellow robe , said of her , ' She is perfect .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B4930923

Category:

Page:

View: 632

Ovid s Tristia Containing five books of mournful Elegies which he sweetly compos d in the midst of his adversity while he liv d in Tomos Newly translated into English by T P Ovid s Tristia Containing five books of mournful Elegies which he sweetly compos d in the midst of his adversity while he liv d in Tomos Newly translated into English by T P



When slain in Battle both the Confuls fell , bulefrom Fortune's Smiles no Wealth
or Pow'r I draw , ma Heir to my Grand - father I ... In vain my Father would my
Madness Cure , Affirming Homer wretched dy'd , and poor . ... Now circling Hours
to circling Hours gave Place , When Purple Robes did both our Shoulders Grace .

Author: Ovid

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0017514592

Category:

Page: 125

View: 252

Fox s Book of Martyrs Or The Acts and Monuments of the Christian ChurchFox s Book of Martyrs Or The Acts and Monuments of the Christian Church



... and partly from anguish and madness . gave the first onset , supported by a
divine asThis alarming advance towards the total surance ... to re slaughter , that
he threw away his purple robe , store to the Christians “ their former estates , to
escape in the habit of a slave . ... Grand Secular mestics , to proceed farther to the
East , but Games , which of course should have been so stopped at Cappadocia
to ...

Author: John Foxe

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89003853892

Category:

Page: 761

View: 883

Fox s Book of MartyrsFox s Book of Martyrs



... and partly from anguish and madness . gave the first onset , supported by a
divine asThis alarming advance towards the total surance ... to re slaughter , that
he threw away his purple robe , store to the Christians “ their former estates , to
escape in the habit of a slave . ... the Grand Secular mestics , to proceed farther to
the East , but Games , which of course should have been so stopped at
Cappadocia ...

Author: John Foxe

Publisher:

ISBN: MSU:31293000970248

Category:

Page: 761

View: 692

Life of Edwin Forrest the American TragedianLife of Edwin Forrest the American Tragedian



... Sole object visible , the imperial one In purple robe and diadem of gold .
Immortal Forrest , who can hope to tell , With tongue less gifted , of the pleasing
sadness Wrought in your deepest scenes of woe and madness ? Who hope by
words to ...

Author: William Rounseville Alger

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044020490439

Category:

Page: 864

View: 283

Frank Leslie s Sunday MagazineFrank Leslie s Sunday Magazine



Thy love each day its sin forgave , to madness , and awoke the worst passions of
her soul . ... His May all my life show forth Thy praiso , purple robe is richly
embroidered with gold . ... The terraces of umphal course of this haughty prince
and favorite as he a beautiful garden attached to a grand palace were exhal-
passes ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015023936548

Category:

Page:

View: 317

Includes music.

Harper s WeeklyHarper s Weekly



Whiteblack , the Cardinal iu purple robes and scar every nationality to flock to
Madrid , instead ness , when nature has ... as against that of goad the bull to
madness ; and the excitement All trains arrive at and depart from Grand Sanitary
Supt .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000020243371

Category:

Page:

View: 524

The Publishers Circular and Booksellers Record of British and Foreign LiteratureThe Publishers Circular and Booksellers Record of British and Foreign Literature



The Madness of David Baring . By JOSEPH HOCKING , Author of The Purple
Robe ' & c . With 8 Illustrations by Sydney ... Olive Tracy : a Novel By Amy LE
FEUVRE , Author of Probable Sons , ' His Big Opportunity , ' & c . 6s . DAVID
LYALL .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: PRNC:32101079672208

Category:

Page:

View: 907

British BooksBritish Books



The Madness of David Baring . By JOSEPH HOCKING , Author of ' The Purple
Robe ' & c . With 8 Illustrations by Sydney ... By AMY LE FEUVRE , Author of '
Probable Sons , ' His Big Opportunity , ' & c . DAVID LYALL . The Flowers o ' the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015084434524

Category:

Page:

View: 236

Annual ReportAnnual Report



... 2444 Grand ( Sarah ) Babs the Impossible . 1901 . K 2471 Grant ( A. J. ) The
French Monarchy ... Hocking ( Joseph ) Madness of David Baring . 1900 . The
Purple Robe . Hocking ( Silas K. ) To Pay the Price . 1900 . Hope ( Anthony ) ...

Author: Glasgow (Scotland). Corporation Public Libraries. Stirling's Library

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112033737542

Category:

Page:

View: 865