Catching LightCatching Light



ADELE REINHARTZ author of Scripture on the Silver Screen " Catching Light sets a new critical benchmark for the unpacking of cinematic stories that invite further theological dialogue . This sensitive analysis of selected Academy Award ...

Author: Roy M. Anker

Publisher: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing

ISBN: 0802827950

Category:

Page: 402

View: 351

Examines nineteen popular films, such as The Godfather trilogy, E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial, and American Beauty, and shows how they convey a range of striking perspectives on the human encounter with God. Original.

Catching LightCatching Light



Box 11327 Berkeley, California 94712 Frontispiece photo by Wallace Berman Cover and book design byjasmine Hromjak Printed in the United States of America Catching Light: Collected Poems ofjoamm McClure is sponsored by the Society for ...

Author: Joanna McClure

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

ISBN: 9781583946305

Category:

Page: 368

View: 758

Joanna McClure's poems reveal the story of a central woman writer of the San Francisco Beat generation counterculture. Married to Beat poet Michael McClure soon after she arrived in San Francisco in 1954, Joanna McClure became a significant figure in the Beat poetry scene. Growing up on a ranch in the Arizona desert, Joanna developed early on a deep sensitivity to the beauty of nature. Her move to San Francisco as a young woman in 1951 launched a lifelong love affair with that city and the poetry it engendered. Thriving on the energy of the Beat movement, the young poet found herself inside a circle of famous poets and great writers in American poetry and American literature, including San Francisco Renaissance poet Robert Duncan and his lover, artist Jess Collins, as well as the Beats Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, Neal Cassady, and Gary Snyder. She heard Ginsberg's first public reading of "Howl" at the Six Gallery in 1955, and the home she shared with Michael became a gathering place for beatniks. Meanwhile, Joanna was developing own body of poetic work, allowing her clear inner voice to guide her. Her poems ardently claim the freedoms her generation struggled to achieve, yet they often do so in a playful and generous voice, reveling in the beauty of the natural world and everyday moments and elegantly celebrating sensuality and intimate love. In the late 1950s she began publishing her work in literary journals and chapbooks, and her first book of poems, Wolf Eyes, was published in 1974. Like many of her female Beat poet contemporaries, and American women writers throughout the 20th century, Joanna McClure wrote prolifically yet quietly year after year, even as her life shifted focus to a career in early childhood development and she and Michael divorced. "Poetry is where I keep company with myself," she declares. Now for the first time the full range of McClure's voice is accessible in one volume, spanning the poet's entire writing life.

Catching the LightCatching the Light



The Southwest taught me an attention to light, to the arrangement of mountains and high plains. I could see the sky and even ... In these fifty years, I have come to conclude that, ultimately, it is about catching light in the dark.

Author: Joy Harjo

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300268683

Category:

Page: 97

View: 117

United States Poet Laureate and winner of the 2022 Academy of American Poets Leadership Award Joy Harjo examines the power of words and how poetry summons us toward justice and healing “Her enduring message—that writing can be redemptive—resonates: ‘To write is to make a mark in the world, to assert “I am.”’ The result is a rousing testament to the power of storytelling.”—Publishers Weekly “Harjo writes as if the creative journey has been the destination all along.”—Kirkus Reviews In this lyrical meditation about the why of writing poetry, Joy Harjo reflects on significant points of illumination, experience, and questioning from her fifty years as a poet. Comprised of intimate vignettes that take us through the author’s life journey as a youth in the late 1960s, a single mother, and a champion of Native nations, this book offers a fresh understanding of how poetry functions as an expression of purpose, spirit, community, and memory. Harjo insists the most meaningful poetry is birthed through cracks in history from what is broken and unseen. At the crossroads of this brokenness, she calls us to watch and listen for the songs of justice for all those America has denied. This is an homage to the power of words to defy erasure—to inscribe the story, again and again, of who we have been, who we are, and who we can be.

Catching the LightCatching the Light



... their bodies to accompany the fart sound effects during the catch scene, the speaker broke and no noise came out. ... During the Press Night for The Winter's Tale in London, there was an operator error and the lights didn't come up ...

Author: Mark Leipacher

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781849433297

Category:

Page: 156

View: 144

Sam Mendes and Simon Russell Beale have forged one of the most successful working partnerships in contemporary theatre history. Across twenty years and eight productions their collaboration has evolved, matured and keeps thriving through their work on stage; six Shakespeare and two Chekhov plays form their common body of work so far. Mark Leipacher’s correspondence with Mendes and Beale and his thorough research into archival material on their collaborations, offers the reader a detailed account of the productions and, uniquely, Mendes’ and Beale’s own observations on their method of work and on the discoveries they made in each of the plays. How do moments of magic on stage arise in the rehearsal room? Catching the Light, full of anecdotes and gems of knowledge, is an indispensable read for actors, directors, students and anyone who loves the theatre. Features a foreword from Kevin Spacey, Artistic Director of the Old Vic.

Foundations of AstronomyFoundations of Astronomy



Gemini Observatory/AURA Light-gathering optical surface Telescope technician Resolving Power: The. Secondary mirror Primary mirror (9 Cengage Learning 2013 I ... Catching light in a telescope is like catching rain in a bucket—the bigger ...

Author: Michael A. Seeds

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9781133711100

Category:

Page: 672

View: 341

Fascinating, engaging, and extremely visual, Foundations of Astronomy Twelth Edition emphasizes the scientific method throughout as it guides students to answer two fundamental questions: What are we? And how do we know? Updated with the newest developments and latest discoveries in the exciting study of astronomy, authors Michael Seeds and Dana Backman discuss the interplay between evidence and hypothesis, while providing not only fact but also a conceptual framework for understanding the logic of science. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Catch the LightCatch the Light



They're also about the light . " Wow , ” I say again , out loud this time . ... Jesse tosses me a developing tank , and I somehow catch it as I fish the film out of my backpack . He gets the chemicals all ready on the counter while I ...

Author: Kate Sweeney

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780593350249

Category:

Page: 352

View: 377

A love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order. "Beautifully captured, like a photograph of a stolen moment. I ached for Marigold in her journey to move forward while not forgetting her past. Kate Sweeney's Catch the Light overflows with grief, love, and growing up."--Amy Spalding, bestselling author of We Used to Be Friends Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up and move from sunny Los Angeles all the way across the country to rural upstate New York. According to her mom, living with her aunt in a big old house in the woods is the fresh start Marigold and her little sister need. But Mary aches for the things she’s leaving behind—her best friend, her older sister, her now-long-distance boyfriend, and the senior year that felt like her only chance at making things feel normal again. On top of everything, Mary has a troubling secret: she’s starting to forget her dad. The void he’s left in her memory is quickly getting filled with bonfires, house parties, and hours in the darkroom with Jesse, a fellow photographer and kindred spirit whom she can’t stop thinking about. As the beauty of Mary’s new world begins to sink in and her connection with Jesse grows stronger, she feels caught between her old life and her new one. Mary might just be losing her grip on the pieces of her life that she's tried so hard to hold together. When the two finally come crashing together, Mary will have to decide what she really wants and come to terms with the ways that the loss of her dad has changed who she is. Even if she can't hold on to her past forever, maybe she can choose what to keep.

General Biology IIGeneral Biology II



Chlorophyll a absorbs mainly red and orange wavelengths of light while chlorophyll b absorbs mainly blue wavelengths. Neither absorbs much green ... Catching Light Figure 11.6 Relative positions of vascular cambium and cork cambium.

Author: Dennis Holley

Publisher: Dog Ear Publishing

ISBN: 9781457554049

Category:

Page: 1016

View: 568

GENERAL BIOLOGY is an introductory level college biology textbook that provides students with an understandable and engaging encounter with the fundamentals of biology. Written for a two-semester undergraduate course of biology majors and presented as a bound set of two distinct volumes, this reader-friendly textbook(s) is concept driven vs. terminology driven. That is, the book(s) are based on the underlying concepts and principles of biology rather than the strict memorization of biological terms and terminology. Written in a student-centered and conversational style, this educational research-based book(s) connects students to all aspects of biology from the molecular to the biosphere. End-of-chapter questions challenge students to think critically and creatively while incorporating science process skills and biological principles.

Camera CraftCamera Craft



Here the ground glass improves the general lighting as it catches light at angles which would otherwise be lost to ... It is very pure in color and has a wonderful power of catching light at very oblique angles and transmitting it to ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:FL2H2J

Category:

Page: 700

View: 698

Modern Painters Modern Painters



Ideal form clinging to the lines of light . Nothing but love can read the letters , to be reached only by Love . nothing but sympathy catch the sound ; there is no pure passion that can be understood or painted except by pureness of ...

Author: John Ruskin

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HN31UC

Category:

Page: 234

View: 533

John Ruskin was the most influential art critic during the Victorian period. His five volume book Modern Painters was written in opposition against art critics who were opposed to the paintings of J.M.W. Turner. Ruskin was a collector of Turner's works and the two were friends. In his writings, Ruskin was a harsh critic towards classical art, and believe that the landscape paintings of Turner and others demonstrated a superior understanding of "truth."